Just One Giant In World Cup Squad

England have named three Burgess brothers in their 24-man World Cup squad whilst Huddersfield's Eorl Crabtree is the most notable omission.

Three of the four Burgess brothers make the cut - twins George and Tom, the only uncapped players in the squad, plus older brother Sam - but former Leeds prop Luke misses out.

It is the first time that three brothers have been included in an England squad and it is the selection of Tom, who is in his first season with South Sydney Rabbitohs that will raise eyebrows as he gets the nod over Crabtree.

Injuries ruled out Leeds' Jamie Jones-Buchanan and Jack Reed of the Brisbane Broncos while there were no places for the likes of St Helens' Jon Wilkin, Warrington veteran Adrian Morley and Wakefield Wildcats' Danny Kirmond.

Head coach Steve McNamara said: "After three years of excellent preparation and the success of the England elite training programme during that period, we are ready for the Rugby League World Cup 2013.

"We are fully aware that the Rugby League World Cup 2013 will be fiercely contested and that this squad will need to work extremely hard and play to a very high level to win the tournament and we believe we have selected a squad capable of doing just that.

"As we have seen in previous tournaments, we will need all members of the squad ready to step up and make vital contributions and we feel that all 24 players have the ability to do that.

"To have a World Cup on home soil is a massive opportunity for the sport and I hope the public will turn up in their numbers and show their support for England."

Most of the England squad will fly to South Africa on Wednesday for a training camp, with the Wigan and Warrington stars involved in Saturday's Grand Final joining them on Monday.

Huddersfield second rower Brett Ferres will also travel to South Africa, although he has not been named in the squad.

England have a warm-up game against Italy at Salford on Saturday, October 19, a week before their opening match against Australia in Cardiff.

England's 24-man squad: Carl Ablett (Leeds), Tom Briscoe (Hull), George Burgess, Sam Burgess, Tom Burgess (all South Sydney), Rob Burrow (Leeds), Josh Charnley (Wigan), Rangi Chase (Castleford), Leroy Cudjoe (Huddersfield), Liam Farrell (Wigan), James Graham (Canterbury Bulldogs), Ryan Hall (Leeds), Zak Hardaker (Leeds), Chris Hill (Warrington), Gareth Hock (Widnes), Michael McIlorum (Wigan), Lee Mossop (Wigan), Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan), James Roby (St Helens), Kevin Sinfield (Leeds, capt), Sam Tomkins (Wigan), Kallum Watkins (Leeds), Ben Westwood (Warrington), Gareth Widdop (Melbourne).

More from Local Sport

Download Our App

You can listen to Pulse 1 wherever you go. Get in touch with the studio and call, message and Tweet us all directly from within the app.

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play

More from Pulse 1

Cover art for Ayla

On Air

Old Skool Anthems playing Ayla - Ayla