Hardaker Named 2015 Super League Man Of Steel

Zak Hardaker

See a list of all the winners from the end-of-season dinner here.

Leeds Rhinos full-back Zak Hardaker has been named the 2015 Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel.

Shortlisted alongside team-mate Adam Cuthbertson and St Helens forward Alex Walmsley, the 23-year-old England player has been in fine form this season and received the award as the stand-out performer in 2015 at the First Utility Super League Man of Steel dinner held at Old Trafford Cricket Ground, Manchester.

Hardaker, who was crowned Super League Young Player of the Year in 2012, has been at the heart of Leeds' attack and defence this year, playing a major role in their Ladbrokes Challenge Cup victory and helping the Rhinos secure the League Leaders trophy, in what has been one of the closest end to a season in 20 years.

It has been a memorable year for Leeds Rhinos and they were named 2015 Super League Club of the Year for their hard work in ensuring attendances grew at the Headingley Carnegie Stadium, managing player welfare throughout the season from the youth development up to the first team and being the top performers in all competitions.

Their coach Brian McDermott was named Coach of the Year, as voted for by his fellow peers in the game.

Departing captain, Kevin Sinfield picked up the Super League Top Gun award for having the best successful kicking percentage over the course of the season.

The award winners in full from the 2015 First Utility Super League Man of Steel awards are as follows:

Hit man - Danny Houghton (Hull FC) - 1,359 tackles
Top metre maker - Alex Walmsley (St Helens) - 4,092 metres
Top try-scorer - Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants) - 27 tries
Top Gun - Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos) - 85.37 percent
Outstanding Contribution - Garreth Carvell, Ade Gardnet, Lee Gilmour, Wayne Godwin, Kylie Leuluai, Adrian Morley, Jamie Peacock, Kevin Sinfield, Chev Walker, Paul Wellens.
Foundation of the Year - Warrington Wolves
First Utility Super League Club of the Year - Leeds Rhinos
First Utility Super League Young Player of the Year - George Williams (Wigan Warriors)
First Utility Super League Coach of the Year - Brian McDermott (Leeds Rhinos)
The Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel - Zak Hardaker (Leeds Rhinos)

More from Local Sport

Download Our App

You can listen to Pulse 1 wherever you go. Get in touch with the studio and call, message and Tweet us all directly from within the app.

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play

More from Pulse 1